The New Seven Wonders of the World revealed

8 pictures

New7Wonders Founder and President Bernard Weber joins Peru's Minister of Foreign Trade and Tourism Mercedes Araoz and Machu Picchu Pueblo Mayor Edgar Miranda, in traditional Inka dress, to celebrate the Inca city's candidacy with local children. Credit: N

View gallery - 8 images

July 10, 2007 After a global poll attracting 100 million votes online and via mobile phone, the new seven wonders of the world have been unveiled. The monuments making the final cut were Chichén Itzá in Mexico, Christ Redeemer in Brazil, The Great Wall of China, Peru's Machu Picchu, Jordan's Petra, The Roman Colloseum in Italy and The Taj Mahal in India. Surprise omissions from the shortlist of 21 sites included The Acropolis, Easter Island Statues and Stonehenge, which were all among the top contenders when Gizmag last checked the odds back in May.

The announcement was made last weekend during a television broadcast from Portugal's Stadium of Light that reached an estimated 1.6 billion viewers from more than 170 countries.

Designed to highlight humanity’s crowning achievements, half of the profits from the campaign organized by a private Swiss foundation called New7Wonders are to be donated to monument preservation and restoration.

The process involved the short-listing of 21 sites from a pool of 77 by a jury of renowned architects and ex-UNESCO chief Federico Mayor followed by what is perhaps the largest global poll in history.

View gallery - 8 images
Post a comment

Recommended for you

Latest in Holiday Destinations

Editors Choice

See the stories that matter in your inbox every morning