Electric cars have taken out the top two spots at the 2015 Pikes Peak International Hill Climb, with Rhys Millen's eO PP03 beating Nobuhiro "Monster" Tajima's Tajima Rimac E-Runner Concept_One to become the first ever all-electric winner of the Race to the Clouds.

Millen's eO PP03 was specifically designed for his Pikes Peak tilt, and channels 1020 kW (1368 hp) of power through all four wheels. Even more incredible than the car's power figure is its 2160 Nm of torque, which only has to propel 1200 kg (2646 lb) – little wonder the oE can hit 260 km/h.

Although it managed to take out the overall title, the Latvian-based company's car couldn't complete the climb's 156 turns in under 9-minutes, which was one its goals in the lead up to this year's race.

Flying the flag highest for the petrol-powered camp was Paul Dallenbach, who hustled his crazy naturally aspirated custom creation to the mountain's 14,110 ft (4,301 m) summit in 9:36.496 – 10 seconds faster than Jeff Zwart could manage in his Porsche 911.

O two wheels, Pikes Peak proved productive for Honda. Jeffery Tigert's CBR 1000 was the fastest motorcycle, climbing the mountain in 10:02.735, 16 seconds faster than Travis Newbold from Ronin could manage aboard his custom built bike.

This year's race was the 93rd running of the Pikes Peak International Hill Climb. Frenchman Sebastien Loeb's Peugeot 208 still holds the race record of 8:13.878 set in 2013.

Full results: Pikes Peak

Images: Drive eO

View gallery - 12 images