Apple has announced that its iPad will be available in an additional nine countries from Friday, July 23. All varieties of both the Wi-Fi and Wi-Fi + 3G models will hit Apple’s retail stores and Apple Authorized Resellers in Austria, Belgium, Hong Kong, Ireland, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand and Singapore.

The release will bring to 19 the number of countries where the iPad is available, following the initial US release on April 30 and the May 28 release to Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Spain, Switzerland and the UK that was initially delayed due to US customers snapping up the bulk of stock.

Just 80 days after its initial US release Apple had notched up sales of three million of the devices, putting paid to speculation from pundits before its release that consumers might not embrace a device that sits somewhere between a smartphone and a laptop.

If you’re one of those still questioning the benefits of the iPad check out our hands-on iPad review.

View gallery - 2 images